Short History

     The Oceania Football Confederation was first mooted in 1964 in Japan, around the Tokyo Olympics, when Sir Stanley Rous (president of FIFA), Jim Bayutti (Australian Soccer Federation), and Sid Guppy (New Zealand Football Association) discussed and put in motion the formation of what would go on to become OFC. The idea was raised following a decision by the Asian Football Confederation, not to accept the membership requests of either Australia or New Zealand. Following a lot of hard work and lobbying, FIFA formally approved the proposal and the Oceania Football Confederation was officially born in 1966. The founding members of OFC included Australia, Fiji, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea.
     Australia resigned as an OFC member in 1972 to pursue membership with the AFC, but they rejoined in 1978. In 1996 FIFA confirmed the OFC as a full confederation and granted it a seat on the FIFA executive. In 2004, New Caledonia became the 12th member of the OFC, who was very involved in the process of founding OFC, but at the time could only be a provisional member as it did not have sports autonomy from France. In 2006, Australia left the OFC again and joined the AFC, and OFC is currently made up of 11 Member Associations and 3 Associate Members. The Oceania Football Confederation is the smallest of the world’s Confederations, and responsible for the association football, futsal and beach soccer across the South Pacific.

Formation                     - 1966
Headquarters               - Auckland, New Zealand
Region served              - Oceania
Membership                - 14 national associations (11 full + 3 associate members)
Official language         - English
President                      - Lambert Maltock
Parent organization    - FIFA
Website                         - www.oceaniafootball.com